Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Les Paul 100 "Hi-Performance" Pack with Valve Junior Amp

Danno719

I'm new to the electric guitar world. I just got the Epiphone Les Paul 100 "Hi-Performance" Pack with Valve Junior Amp.

I'm very pleased with it especially for what I paid for it. What I want to know is, is it possible to get a more distorted sound out of this setup by just adjusting the tone and volume. I can change the sound from sounding like and electric to swearing that it is an acoustic, but I can't get the distorted rock/metal sound. Can it be done or do I just have to wait to get a different amp to do that, or is it just not possible with an LP?

I'm new to the electric guitar world. I just got the Epiphone Les Paul 100 "Hi-Performance" Pack with Valve Junior Amp.

I'm very pleased with it especially for what I paid for it. What I want to know is' date=' is it possible to get a more distorted sound out of this setup by just adjusting the tone and volume. I can change the sound from sounding like and electric to swearing that it is an acoustic, but I can't get the distorted rock/metal sound. Can it be done or do I just have to wait to get a different amp to do that, or is it just not possible with an LP?

[/quote']

The higher you crank the amp volume AND the guitar volume, the more distortion you'll get. The Vjr amp has real nice tube distortion when pushed, and the LP is the quintessential rock guitar (the LP100 has epi humbucker pickups that make nice rock sounds)

To get more distortion (especially at lower volumes)- buy an overdrive or distortion pedal.

Got the same setup. For rocklike distortion, turn the guitar volume and tone all the way up. You'll like what you hear. And flipping through the pickups will give you 3 really nice, distinct, sounds. For a nice blues sound, let the amp do more of the talking by turning it up and dialing back the guitar volume.