Gibson Brands Forums

new to guitars

tlens22

I need some free advice. I am fairly new to the guitar game. I have an epiphone g-400 electric guitar. I just recently restrung it myself. I think I did a pretty good job. However, when I tuned the guitar (and every time I tune it now), it seems the 6th and 5th strings constantly "buzz." I realize the strings are probably to close to the fretboard. I played a little with the stuff in the bridge area, raising and lowering, and nothing seems to work. Now I fear I've played with it too much. Could it just be the strings? I bought Super Slinkys by Ernie Ball. I will try any advice given, but I'm wondering if I should just stop messing around and get maintenance on the guitar.

How do I set the intonation? And what are the guidelines?

The quick answer is you play a string open, tune it (I suggest using a tuner..), then play that same string at the 12th fret and see if it's sharp or flat. Then you fix it by adjusting using the saddles (where the string rides on the bridge).

For a longer answer... I checked google and this page looks pretty complete. I didn't read the entire page, but I'll assume it's correct:)

http://www.guitarattack.com/repair/intonation.htm