Gibson Brands Forums

[b]Masterbuilt - AJ-500R or DR-500R or 500M's ???[/b] NEED HELP

SCSTRUMMER

I am new to the Epi forum and I am looking to get either the Masterbuilt AJ-500R or the DR-500R. I finger pick about 50% of the time and strum the rest. I was able to play a AJ-500R at a local Sam Ash store. It was the only Masterbuilt model they had in stock. I was blown away buy the tone and volume but I am wondering how it compares to the DR-500R.

When I was finger picking on the AJ I noticed the bass was a bit over powering at times. I had to make sure that my thumb didn't hit the low E to hard. I love strong bass but not too strong. Just wondering if anyone has compared the AJ-500R to the DR-500R and what there thoughts were. Is the DR a little less bassy, more bassy, or balanced when compared to the AJ?

Of course I didn't have the opportunity to play the Mahogany models but I'm assuming they wouldn't sound as rich as the rosewoods. Mahogany owners feel free to voice your opinions.

Thanks!

I have a DR00M and AJ500M, and the AJ has deeper bass response and a more focused sound overall than the DR. You wouldn't say the DR sounds bad, though. It just sounds different. Of my two examples, I might describe the DR as being the glue in mix--a nice wash of sound--while the AJ cuts through the mix more and articulates individual notes better.

I also have an AJ 500R, and it DOES have a tremendous bottom without sacrificing any high end. However, if I had to choose between my AJ500R and AJ500M when fingerpicking, I'd choose the AJ500M, as the high end sparkles a little more. The bass response is not as booming, but it's very focused. That may be my technique and proficiency as much as the guitar.

I've never played a DR500R.

Red 333