Gibson Brands Forums

Dot pickups.

marcbc

Hey guys. i have been playing guitar for about 2 years now and i was wondering how the dots were. i have an epiphone les paul standerd and gibson les paul studio and a sheraton II. i want to get a dot and play some black crowes and cream and stones tunes with it. reading some other messages i can tell that the pick ups that come with them stink but what do you think would be the best bet for it??

the pickups don't stink.

one of the reasons after market pickups are so popular now, is because people swapped out the originals.

that includes gibsons.

having gibson 57's is ok. not a thing wrong with it.

but you said black crowes cream and stones..there's quite a range in that.

Try to take a look around and see if you can find out what your fave tunes were played on by these guys.

clapton used p90s, keef was all over the place... I'm not sure what black crowes have thier guitars loaded with.

I'd hate to tell you to choose a paf or vintage style humbuck and then find out there were five other pickups used on what you

want to play.

I gave up on chasing tones a long time ago by modifying existing setups. If your looking for a a certain sound, then get the original equipment that will produce it. You will never get one guitar to sound the way that a different guitarist plays a different guitar, or the same on for that matter. for me "it's in the way that you use it" as the song goes. pup manufacturers make too damn much money as it is. They aren't going to get mine anymore.

bluesstringer. the problem with that is that you'd have to copy the amp, the effects pedals, the studio mic, the mix,

and often those classic sounds were in fact modified versions of the original amps and guitars, too.

I'm not arguing with you outright. strictly speaking of the guitars tone, it's a pretty good bet!

add to that playing styles.. the person doing the playing adds a lot, no doubt about it.