Gibson Brands Forums

I have a simple question, I need your input..

Ndbrown26

Hello fellow guitar players,

I started playing guitar back in 1996; I played continuously till about 2001, then i quit(because of college). Now, in 2008, I want to get back into it. You see, back in the day I played jackson and ibanez guitars. Now I've had a big change of heart. I want that Les Paul sound. I have heard some good and bad things about epiphones.

One thing that concerns me is that I've heard that epiphones DONT stay in tune very well. Is that true?

I plan on buying this guitar within 3 weeks from musiciansfriend.com:

http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-Les-Paul-Standard-Electric-Guitar?sku=518341

Is that a decent epiphone? Will it stay in tune if I do a lot of soloing? Will it have good sustain?

I appreciate your feedback,

Nathan =)

Whoa, freaky, my name's Nathan too, haha. The Plus Top is The best version of the Epi Standard (It's the same as the plain top, except for the flametop design.) I'm pretty sure that the tuners depend on which factory it comes from, I don't think that they have only one type of tuner in every factory. The sustain depends on the guitar but most are nice because they have the Set Neck. If it doesn't stay in tune, it's not horribly expensive to replace the tuners to Grovers or other tuners. As always, play one in a guitar shop before you buy. Or even better, play a friend's. Hope I helped.