Gibson Brands Forums

Action issues...

metalhed717

i'm still a newbie when it comes to setting up a guitar, but i tried to lower the action last night... it didnt work. is it supposed to go way out of tune? also, the lower it made the action the more bass-ey the sound got. that i'm sure would be solved by just lowering the neck pup. this is my first try at doing this, so is all of this supposed to happen? just checking, sorry for the n00b question.

i' is it supposed to go way out of tune? also' date=' the lower it made the action the more bass-ey the sound got. that i'm sure would be solved by just lowering the neck pup. this is my first try at doing this, so is all of this supposed to happen? just checking, sorry for the n00b question.[/quote'] Yeah, going out of tune and "tone" change is normal....tuning goes out because when you lower the bridge, the tension is lessened on the strings....simply retune (and check your intonation at the 12th fret.....adjust as needed). As far as the bass-y-ness, you've already figured that out... again, as the bridge is lowered, the strings are now lower and closer to the pickups, which may indeed need to be lowered as well to compensate (or perhaps you could get by with pole piece adjustment, depending on their positions initially). Good questions, and nothing wrong with experimenting with "minor" adjustments on your own guitar, as that's the best way to learn- DIYing.

So how's the lower action - did you get any fret buzz, etc ? How low did you go :^o

Also, if...when you lowered the bridge, it made the stings too close to the pickups, it will not only account for tone problems,

but the magnetic pull, on the strings, can cause tuning problems, as well. So, I'd say lower the pickups overall, and see

if that helps? Might need to adjust the truss rod, as well, IF you're getting any string buzz, in odd places.

CB