Gibson Brands Forums

Seymour Duncan Pickups for my SG G-400

Hello people,

I need a quick response if possible please :)

I have a standard SG G-400 which I love but I want more from the pickups. So I decided to use this as my "project" as I am new to the world of upgrades.

I think I have pretty much settled on SD SH-4 JB for the Bridge and SH-1 59 at the neck. I think this combination will be pretty sweet and should give me enough tonal options. I pretty much love most styles of rock, so like playing dirty sounds mostly. Although my musical tastes vary from the Beatles, G'n'R, Oasis, Chilli's, Green Day right up to more current metal styles of Bullet for my Valentine, Avenged Sevefold etc....... I love the classic sounds of Queen, Led Zep, AC/DC and the like (anything and everything really).

So firstly what do you guys think of this combo!? I have to admit I don't know too much about outputs and the like, so I'm not entirely sure if I need anything else!? I think I read somewhere that stock Epi wiring is pretty poor, so should I get a complete wiring kit whilst I'm at it!? I'm not sure I want to try anything to clever like splitting or coil tapping etc! My soldering skills are ok and I'm definately of the "have a go yourself to really learn how" mindset.......

I'm also thinking tuners at a later stage! Other than Grover or going for Gibson green key type, I'm not sure of my other options!?

If anyone has suggestions of a better matchup of pups for the sound I'm after then I'm all ears.

Looking forward to your responses.... Hopefully I don't sound like too much of a noob, I have tried to do my research first......... Thanks

I need a quick response if possible please :)

Yeah... right.