Gibson Brands Forums

Zakk Wylde Epiphone questions...

rpedro

just wanted to say hi, and I just picked up a Zakk Wylde Epi, and am so excited!!! I am just learning how to play, and wanted a decent guitar to grow into... I have always liked this model, so I decided to give it a shot... I will post some pics asap... I was wondering what model Dunlop pick Zakk uses, I have read the Dunlop Tortex 1.5mm on some sites but not sure... Anyone know??? Also does he actually use his strings or the Dunlop ones???

Any other help/advice would be great!!! Thanks!!!

ZW has been known to use both GHS and Dunlop strings, depending on the guitar (he has a few, you know).

Have you already tried GBZWs (11-60) or even GBZWLOWs (11-70)? Those strings just rock, my #1 choice for heavier rock and squeal. 11-60 is quite safe to try but for the 11-70 I think you need to do a complete setup including the nut for the .070 E string.

If you want to play like him, here's a secret tip for advanced ZW imitation: look at the rings on his fingers on his right hand ...

If you're just learning how to play, I'd opt for 010s. Probably standard on your guitar anyway. Besides no need to (change)set up of your guitar, it's a lot easier to develop your vibrato and finger-strength. A 11-set or heavier will probably yield disappointing results in that respect if you're just starting out IMO.

Hi, welcome to the forum!

Congrats on the Zakk Wylde les paul!

As said above, he probably uses both his signature strings by GHS, or the Dunlop ones. He uses at least 11's, and tunes down 1/2 step, usually.

For picks, I don't know. I think you should go to a store and buy a bunch of different pick sizes, and find the one that is most comfortable for you. Then go and buy a dozen or so of that pick. You should do that same with guitar strings. Every time you change your strings, try a brand or size. Once you've gone through enough, use the ones that felt and sounded best to you.