Gibson Brands Forums

MM-50 Mandolin.

TNFrank

I recently started playing mandolin and bought an MM-30 Epi. I've set it up and it plays rather well for only costing $150 bucks. I'd like to stay "brand loyal" so I'm looking at the MM-50 as my upgrade mando. I've read that it has a carved spruce top and either a maple or mohogony carved back with either laminated maple sides, solid maple sides or mohogony sides, so which is it. Also, how do these mandos rate to other medium priced Pacrim mandos like the Morgan Monroe, Michael Kelly and Kentucky brands? Thanks.

Not much mandolin discussion goes on in this forum. Pity. ](*,) Anyways, I suggest you

post your question on Mandolincafe.com's board. It's partially sponsored by Gibson. I found

it when the mandolin bug bit me about 3 years ago. I'm over it now, but may get bit

again.

Well run site. Watch your language and your women and you'll be all right. Time was

posters were thicker'n bugs on a bumper in June. One post will surely get you 14

different responses from 12 different people.

Tell Fatt Dad I said, 'Hey.'

Hope that helps.

LOL, I got banned form the MandloinCafe for some reason. A couple guys and I were having a debate on "theory vs natural, god given ability" and the powers that be saw fit to kick me off without even letting me know. I think you've got to be born with the gift of music or all the theory in the world won't help, they saw it differently but that's neither here nor there. I'm simply wanting to know the construction of the MM-50 since I've read that's it's being built a couple different ways. I'd like to know more on what the back and sides are made of. Thanks.

Epiphone's product pages indicate "Solid Spruce" top and "Maple body". I can only

surmise, given that 'solid' is an adjective that increases the value of the instrument

and their choice to not use it, it means lamenate.

The maple ought to give you a brighter tone. Not to mention the fancy, dancy scroll.