Gibson Brands Forums

The Epi LP Sound

raf66

Hi everyone. I'm a pretty novice player with only 2+ years of experience. I had always wanted an LP so when I took up guitar 2 years ago I picked up an Epi LP (after my initial purchase of a Taylor 310 acoustic) and I just love the sound. It has the crunch that I dearly love and that most of my guitar heroes play (Journey, Bon Jovi-I know, Ritchie mostly plays a Strat, REO Speedwagon, etc.).

However, to the point of my post. I had never really been interested in a Strat (i.e. that OTHER guitar) until about a month ago when I was visiting my grown-up candy store (GC) and an arctic white MIM Strat called to me. I picked it up, played it for awhile, fell in love with it and purchased it. Obviously due to its recent purchase (and the fact that I love it), I find that I play it far more often than my LP. It is stunningly beautiful, it's soooo much more comfortable (and easier) to play and it has a lot of tonal variety that I'm not able to get in my LP. However, I just can't get the same wonderful crunch sound out of it that I can out of my LP. And palm muting, forget about it. I can't even come close to the same sound on the Strat with that technique.

Anyway, I'm not sure why I felt the need to share what most of you will likely consider relatively unimportant info. I guess I'm just lamenting the fact that the guitar that has THE sound that led me to playing the instrument in the first place is just more difficult and less comfortable for me to play. Of course, the design and weight of the LP probably has a great deal to do with why it sounds so incredible to me. Does anyone else find the physical differences in the 2 styles to be as pronounced as I do or am I just a wimp that needs to play/practice more?

Hmm....This isn't so unusual.