Gibson Brands Forums

Newbie Needs a Les Paul Lesson

Mr.Jack55

Hey guys, please pardon my ignorance, but I just started learning to play (at 38) and I have a few quick questions for you seasoned pros. I've always been in love with the Les Paul, even though I could never play one. Well I'm working on that now, and I'm dieing to get one of my very own. :-#

Stupid question #1. Other than price, how does an Epi LP differ from the modern day Gibson?

Stupid question #2. What makes the Jr. a Jr.

Stupid question #3. Custom vs standard

Thanks for any and all learn'n. Just remember, I'm a virgin...so please be gentle.

You will make fantastic music with your Epi trust that. Also, IMO Epi's use much BETTER tuning keys than Gibsons on their setneck guitars these days. Most everyone I know with a Gibson has swapped out the tuners for Grovers, again which come stock on almost every setneck Epi you buy new today.

A flat top and one pickup as stated above, AND a wraparound tailpiece (instead of a tune-o-matic bridge and a stop tailpiece). Makes intonation harder and less accurate. A very good model but maybe not the best choice as a first or only guitar.

Hey guys' date=' please pardon my ignorance, but I just started learning to play (at 38) and I have a few quick questions for you seasoned pros. I've always been in love with the Les Paul, even though I could never play one. Well I'm working on that now, and I'm dieing to get one of my very own. :-#

Stupid question #1. Other than price, how does an Epi LP differ from the modern day Gibson?

Stupid question #3. Custom vs standard

Thanks for any and all learn'n. Just remember, I'm a virgin...so please be gentle.[/quote']

First of all, welcome to the Epiphone Electric Forum...

I recently purchased an Epiphone Les Paul after going many years without my Gibson LP Custom (had to

sell it a few years back). To answer your questions...