Gibson Brands Forums

what gauge to go for?

Latem

Anyone know what's the gauge of stock strings that come with Epiphone Les Paul Sepcial II?

My first string (string #1) just broke on me, and I have no idea what gauge to go for when I purchase new strings. I'd like to match what I have now (original strings) for now at least since I'm still learning and gotten used to it. But if I have to I can get a new different set of different gauge. In general I'm more interested in playing some heavier rock I guess, ex of some riffs i've been trying to learn: by Porcupine Tree, Tool, Rammstein, Anathema. If you get the picture. Any suggestion of what actual specific strings I should get (actual product name, brand + gauge) is welcome too. Thanks!

Anyone know what's the gauge of stock strings that come with Epiphone Les Paul Sepcial II?

My first string (string #1) just broke on me' date=' and I have no idea what gauge to go for when I purchase new strings. I'd like to match what I have now (original strings) for now at least since I'm still learning and gotten used to it. But if I have to I can get a new different set of different gauge. In general I'm more interested in playing some heavier rock I guess, ex of some riffs i've been trying to learn: by Porcupine Tree, Tool, Rammstein, Anathema. If you get the picture. Any suggestion of what actual specific strings I should get (actual product name, brand + gauge) is welcome too. Thanks!

[/quote'] Try Ernie Ball Regular Slinky 10 gauge, that's what i use on my Epi. Les Paul Standard Plus

I'm not sure what they came with, put they were probably 10-46. Or possibly 9s. I use Ernie Ball Regular Slinky 10-46 and find them to sound just fine. I have a G400 and a Epi SG JR. that both have them on. But try out some different brands and see what you like. Different guages too.