Gibson Brands Forums

rhythm select setting on toggle switch

freakus

Hi,

My rhythm select setting on toggle switch isn't working, only some times. I replaced the switch, but still the same issue, no problem on the treble setting, if I give it a tap on the back it does work. Any one have any ideas to what the issue is? Could this be a humbucker issue. I'm a newbie, it's a Epi Les Paul Gibson, (old name for a standard?) cica Late nineties.

Thanking you in advance,

Freakus

Probably a loose wire' date=' bad solder connection, etc.[/quote']

Ron, it's more that the switch contacts are not making a good connection

on those asian 3-ways. You can fiddle with them, spray (etc),but eventually

the 3 way will need to be replaced. I had to do it on my Epi LP custom...it

got very annoying intermittently..and you had to flip the toggle many times

back and forth and it would start working again.

Well you've already replaced the switch... so I'd do as mentioned and make sure the connections at the volume pot where the pickup is connected are good. Sometimes all it needs is to be re-heated with the soldering iron and a smidgen of fresh solder added.

Ron' date=' it's more that the switch contacts are not making a good connection

on those asian 3-ways. You can fiddle with them, spray (etc),but eventually

the 3 way will need to be replaced. I had to do it on my Epi LP custom...it

got very annoying intermittently..and you had to flip the toggle many times

back and forth and it would start working again.[/quote']

Carv, you probably noticed by now that the guy already replaced the switch

but I did want to mention that an "asian 3-way" sounds like fun.:D

Carv' date=' you probably noticed by now that the guy already replaced the switch

but I did want to mention that an "asian 3-way" sounds like fun.8-[ [/quote']

Yes, those asian 3-ways can be very entertaining. =P~

But seriously, even if he has replaced the switch (with a non-switchcraft),