Gibson Brands Forums

NEWBIE NEED ADVICE FROM GRAND MASTERS... les paul custom or standard plus, china or korea???

elleon ricardo

hi.. im new with this product and i need assist or more info about what im looking for

im a les paul fan but GIBSON JUST WAY TOO EXPENSIVE! so i chose epi instead... i found epi les paul custom alphine white and she's deadly gorgeous, made from KOREA! that's the good news and the bad news is she got rust in her "SO CALLED" gold hardware! and i think is because the weather ( i live in tropical country, that's gotta be something ) and also the reseller isnt quite good take caring the product..

in the same store, i also found epiphone les paul standard plus MADE in china with no rust in the hardware

i want to buy an epi but with that conditions, i must say, its hard to me to choose, is there anyone could help me with it? and im little bit considering to buy ultra II ( made in korea ) but sadly her sound not that good ( or it just me )

thank you so much for your help

An Ultra II does not sound like a typical LP, which is why I have one, but it's not for everyone.

Most guitars* use a crappy fake brass finish and it will tarnish quickly. I know you want to buy a new guitar that's perfect, but it will tarnish soon anyway.

*Some high end unaffordable guitars may not tarnish that quickly.

hi.. im new with this product and i need assist or more info about what im looking for

im a les paul fan but GIBSON JUST WAY TOO EXPENSIVE! so i chose epi instead... i found epi les paul custom alphine white and she's deadly gorgeous' date=' made from KOREA! that's the good news and the bad news is she got rust in her "SO CALLED" gold hardware! and i think is because the weather ( i live in tropical country, that's gotta be something ) and also the reseller isnt quite good take caring the product..

in the same store, i also found epiphone les paul standard plus MADE in china with no rust in the hardware