Gibson Brands Forums

New to it all.

gan_nair

Hello, Im new to guitars in general, Ive always seemed to have one around me, but I never learned anything about them, like how to play them or repair them. I now have 2 epiphone electric guitars and an epiphone bass. Im still learning to play though, mainly into learning Tool, As I Lay Dying, Lamb of God, Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Led Zeppelin, etc. Just a huge range of all different types of music. A problem I ran into was that one of the electric guitars I striped to paint it and add some graphics, seems that Im an artist before Im a player, but the other one that I was learning on the nut broke on it. I dont know if I was using too big of strings, I had Zakk Wyldes strings in it, I love that deep sound, and the edge of the nut broke right off. Im needing to replace it now, but Id rather learn how to repair the guitar as opposed to taking it to someone to have it done.

Im wondering if anyone can tell me what kind of nut to buy, what I need to do in order to fix it, etc. I appreciate it, thanks.

Check out Dan Erlewine's book on Guitar Maintanance. It's a big paperback at Barnes and Noble and places like that. I might have spelled his name wrong, but it's close...a search will get you there prob for the proper title. Lots of good info for the self helper. I'm too scared to do the actual operations, I 'm no good at much of anything practical, but it's a good book packed away someplace around here.

Nuts are pretty cheap though, and hiring someone to do it, and to tell you how, or even show you how they did it might be a good primer for the first try. You may well need extra shaping even with a pre fab. Kind of like that time way back in ...nah, nevermind! Best keep this family friendly. A little help with the nut the first time ain't a bad thing is all I mean! =D>