Gibson Brands Forums

Home recording

rlajack1217

Ok this maybe off topic for this forum. But I was wondering what you guys were using to record your music at home. My son plays the drums and he gets together with a couple of his friends and they jam. Well he now wants to mix/record their music. So with the holidays fast approching I was thinking of getting him setup with something. But Im not sure what. I don't want to spend a ton of dough but I'd like it to be decent.

Again sorry if this is off topic.

Boss br 600 digital 8 track...onboard drum machine is nice for the drumless-they sound pretty damn good robot or not...I don't use the guitar effects, but the bass effects/simulators I do use...have a cheap Austin Bass but no amp, so I run right into the Boss and use a simulated bass amp....has easy mix down options too. I'm a novice with it, only 2 songs fully mixed down and mp3'd; I know it can sound better than I have made it sound by virtue of the demo and some stuff I've heard other guys do with it. It's not a bank breaker either. Maybe not going to get absolute top notch profesional level sound, but better than a mere audio "notebook" to help you formulate ideas, come up with very good demos and if you are a talented tonemeister, you might be able to get it to sound top notch-I don't know...I'm not a skilled producer, but I have a couple good sounding Mp3's (through good speakers or headphones) with it.

I would be lost with out my Zoom 8 track recorder! I burn my own backing tracks of my songs' and now i'm a one man band. Buy all means get your kid one and it will open up all kinds of things for him to do. I really think he'll use it and love it !!! Stan.

I'm using Garage Band on a Mac. The USB interface is a Pod XT Live for guitar & bass, M-Audio Mobile Pre for Microphones.

Not the least expensive route, however.