Gibson Brands Forums

Should I have my epiphone "set up"? *VERY Frustrated*

natedagw821

Hey guys,

I have had my epi les paul for about 3 months and I'm having problems with it staying in tune. Yes, it DOES have the Grover tuners on it. Another problem I'm having is that when I pick the low E string, it goes sharp then returns to "normal."

I'm new to the whole Les Paul thing. Throughout the years, I would only play either an Ibanez or a Jackson. I never had any tuning problems with those guitars. Why am I having so many problems keeping my Les Paul in tune?

Could the neck be out of adjustment, or is the WHOLE damn thing out of whack?

Frankly, I'm about to give up and just buy a jackson. I really DON'T want to, but I'm really frustrated with this thing going out of tune after I do a bend.

Please give me some advice,

Nate

In an article I read, and I'll post the link to it, the author, Jack Endino, says when tuning your guitar, switch to the neck pickup, turn the volume knob all the way up, and the tone knob all the way down. Then as you're tuning, pluck the strings over the twelfth fret. Try it and see how it works for you. Good luck!

Here's the link to the article:

http://jackendino.com/archive/tuningnightmares.html

Oh, by the way, make sure to check that the nuts on your tuners are snug (don't overtighten them), as well as the screws that secure them to the back of the headstock. Also stretch your strings whenever you put a new set on.

Do a search on the forum for tuning problems. There's a lot of good info here.

that article is good, but yes you probably should get a set-up...tuning problems can be caused by an improperly

cut nut, which causes the strings to bind (common on new guitars) and easily fixed by a tech / luthier with the

proper tools...

that article is good' date=' but yes you probably should get a set-up...tuning problems can be caused by an improperly