Gibson Brands Forums

Newbie has Valve Jr Mod questions

I've been a professional musician all my life. In the "big hair" 80's I used rack gear and then in '92 I got a cruise ship gig and started using a Roland VG (digital modeling) system, so even though I've made my living playing guitar, I haven't owned an amp or a pedal in over 25 years.

Now that I'm back on dry land I'm getting into the Valve Jr thing in a big way. Normally I'm a DIY-er, but I build guitars, teach school, gig, and have a 2 year old so I don't have time to do a lot of modding myself, plus electronics are my weakness. I plan to get my feet wet with a "buildyourownclone" pedal so I can't set the house on fire.

I bought a stock Valve Jr., (love it) and was about the buy the parts to do the turretboard.com "Vox mod" + OT + new tubes, when I found one already done on Ebay for less than the price of the parts! (currently being shipped)

Here's my questions...some of which this forum has already answered, I'm just checking my facts...

I'm playing "Outlaw/RedDirt" country music so I want more clean headroom, my plan is to change out the 12ax7 with a 12au7 or a 5751. Will this clean up my tone without sacrificing volume? Do I just want a JJ gold tube? How are GooveTubes tubes? What are the best and are they worth the extra $$$?

Next, I haven't found anyone who has done a mod involving a footswitch. I'd love to have a "lead switch", or if using (for example) the Bitmo mods, I'd love to be able to switch things with my feet instead of at the amp. Any ideas?

This might be a really stupid question, but remember I haven't used a real amp in 25 years, is there such a thing as an A/B box where you can use two heads that share the same cabinet?

Like I said, I'll be playing country, is the stock 1-12 speaker okay or should I think about upgrading?