Gibson Brands Forums

Newbie here some Epi Valve questions...

rob_gt4

Hi guys,

I've been checking out some vids on youtube etc of the Epi Valve junior and there's some people getting great tones out of these things so thought i'd do a bit of research, couple things i'm trying to find out...

1. I'm in the UK and the Epiphone Valve jr heads are like rocking horse sh1t but the combos are 10 to a penny, I was planning to run the Head into a PA with a couple of Mesa Boogie 1x12 cabs I have, but seen as I can't get one, could I get a combo and bypass the standard speaker to achieve what I originally wanted? Oh and also still get the same sound?

2. It seems common on these to do a tube change, is this fairly straightforward and is it neccessary

and finally,

I've been offered a v3 combo will this have the tone, gain and reverb controls or is that just on the head that is being talked about being on its way?

Thanks in advance and sorry for the essay8-[

you have to have a speaker connected. they don't have a line out.

the combo and the head are the same.

pull out tube, put tube in. make sure you don't push wrong and bend the pins. and make sure they are lined up.

easy.

the new head has reverb etc...

the valve senior.

the valve junior has a volume control and that's it.

as regards using 2X12 cabs.. you lose a bit of volume.. a single 12" will be louder.

get one with as high db sensitivity as you can find. 100, 101. those are loud.

you don't have a line out, so you'll have to mic it.

TWANG

On V3 (and probably v2 as well) combos, there are speaker output jacks, so yes, you could bypass the stock speaker and go to a seperate cabinet.

No, it would not sound the same.

Nothing but a volume control on Vjr. The tone control and reverb are on the vapor amp that's supposedly "on its way."

you have to have a speaker connected. they don't have a line out.
tch