Gibson Brands Forums

Ever been totally satisfied with you guitars? I finally am.

jeffguitar

Hi guys.

Thought I would post something unusual for me. I am a working musician and I finally have the two guitars that I lover dearly, and it's strange for me to finally be able to say that.

A few years ago I got the Strat of my dreams when I purchased a Jimmie Vaughan model off white guitar. I instakked some fender custom shop 54's in it, and it has been my baby ever since that time. It had the middle tone pot set to the bridge pup instead of the middle pup right from the factory. This enables me to use my inbetween positions and still get the quacky sound without losing the bite. It has the soft V shape neck, vintage bridge and saddles and my strings hardly ever break because they are smooth and round, almost like having String saver saddles but without the tone loss from them. It's just the best strat I have ever owned, perfect for what I had always wanted, and I installed my 54's in a shell guard.

A year later, I started to pine away for a Humbucker guiatr. I first purchased an Epiphone intage SG for $249. I ended up not likng it that well because it had just too dark of a tone. Well, a few montha later I am looking at ZZounds.com and they hae one left, b stock, at $399.00 an Epiphone les Paul Ultra. The frst model. I snatched it up before someone else could order it. I then got on Ebay and ordered a set of Gibson 57 classics. I instaled them and got to see how the Ultra is carved out inside to make it light. When I plugged t in, I was amazed at the quality and feel. the 57's sounded so sweet. This guitar is one of the best LP's I have ever craddled in my arms, and the 57's fit it like a glove.