Gibson Brands Forums

anyone know anything about fender amps?

im a gigging musician in a band, playing a marshall mg100dfx amp. i use the over drive channel with a tubescreamer for solos. i like this marshall tone, but the clean channel is very poor. its an amp that does the job but is pretty poor on anything but that marshall over driven sound.

im switching to fender for the fender bright tone.

im looking for something inbetween the twin reverb (too expensive) and the blues junior (too small)

was thinking of a vox ac15 but they seem unreliable as a gigging amp from what ive read.

Could be worth giving the BC30 a look - 30W, Clean channel is wonderful, takes pedals really well, voiced similiar to Fender/Vox rather than Marshall, built like a tank.

Don't forget about Carvins. I am leaning to a carvin for my next amp purchase. I was , like you, considering a fender until their latest price increases and know just don't think they're worth it. With Carvin, you order directly from the factory and I believe them to be much better bargains than Fenders, unless of course you want to look into the used market.

How about a wonderful Fender Deluxe Reverb (22 Watt) or Pro Reverb (50 Watt)? Ever considered these two`? The Pro Reverb is the underrated little brother of the twin and it looks like one (at least the 60's/70's Versions)...

Or you could buy a Twin and pull out two powertubes which would reduce it to 50 watts (if you are goin for a mid-70's 100 Watt Silverface Twin...)

Fender amps are still the best for that sparkling clean sound! Even the reissues (even if they lose in value very fast)

JM

blues junior (too small) was thinking of a vox ac15 but they seem unreliable as a gigging amp from what ive read.

Specs-wise, the Blues Junior and AC15 are comparable; both about 15 watts and a 12" speaker. The Fender Hot Rod Deluxe is cheaper than a Twin Reverb and puts out 40 watts which should be sufficient for most players.