Gibson Brands Forums

Can you Put EL34 Tubes in So cal 50 AMP

Any other info on those 7 pin EL34's?

Most EL34's should have 8 pins but I think the Groove Tubes EL34R's have 7 pins.

They should work fine since its an EL34 but I'm not an expert.

I just put a new pair of Electro-Harmonix EL34's in my new So-Cal and they sound great.

I still have the Ruby EL34B's that came with mine, great tubes, but I like the EH's a little better.

Let me know how they sound if you fire them up!

Here's some more info on my situation. I just bought the amp used and wanted to upgrade the tubes. The amp looks like new and the seller said it is one year old. The previous owner didn't mention if he had changed the power tubes, so I'm not sure if the amp has the original power tubes.

Everything I've read about the SoCal said it takes EL34 tubes, so I found a new pair of JJ EL34's on Craigslist and bought them. Last night I went to change them and noticed that the existing tubes were EL34-B's. They said "made in China", "Electron Tube". I had heard the factory tubes were "Ruby Tubes", but these did not say Ruby anywhere. The EL84-B's have 8 pins, while the EL84's have 7. I googled EL84-B and found only one reference, and it said the resistance was higher on the B's. I decided to try them, and they seemed to work fine, but I want to be sure the the EL34's are completely compatible.

I am going down the a local Epiphone dealer to see if they know the difference, but they don't do amp repair/mods in house, so may not get a solid answer from them. Any advice from you guys is appreciated!

Thanks,

Michael