Gibson Brands Forums

First Time Buyer - Epiphone LP 100

MediaMan09

Hi, First post, and in a few days, first time electric guitar purhase.

I dabbled on nylon string classical guitars in my youth, put the guitar down thirty years ago, and now I got the bug again - this time electric. Mid-life crisis I suppose! As I am only a beginner, I have my eye on an Ebony LP-100 - absolutely love the style and it felt pretty good when I tried it out in the store, just like a kid.

My style is quite laid back - more the clean, clear, soft, rich, smooth type ; words like overdrive, distortion, metal, etc are not in my vocabulary. So if you might indulge me, I have a few burning questions:

1) NECK WIDTH - The LP-100 is described as a slimmed down version. I know its lighter, which is fine by me, but what about the neck/fret width - is it any narrower that the higher end Epiphones?? I hope not.

2) STRING TYPE - Should I be leaning away from stainless steel and looking instead at flat-wound/ nickel? Do I need to look for any particular guage? Can string type be requested on purchase or do they always come with a basic set of stainless steel strings (or do they come with nothing and the dealer typically adds them?)

3) PRACTICE AMP - Looking for something simple but decent (especially as the amp is so critical in defiining the overall audio experience. Dont really need any of the special effects; just risch sound and some line in/out capability. Looking at Traynor DG15 or Marshall MG15. Any thoughts?

4) GUITAR SETUP - Is this something that a dealer does without the buyer ie 'in the back room' ( as in - here ya go - we set it up) .. or .. is it truly adjusted for personal preference, one on one? Is there typicallya separate charge, or is it done for free with a new purchase? I guess I want low 'action' so I dont have to work too too hard!

Many thanks

I think they are all the same at the nut width.. so the neck width should be the same, too.