Gibson Brands Forums

I found out something new about pup covers on my LPC...

duane v

... After picking up my bag of freshly plated gold stuff, I took them to my Luthier and as he was pre-fitting the pup covers, I found out the bridge versus the neck pup poles have different spacing:-s ...... I never new that...

The great Duane didn't know about this already? I'm slightly shocked to be honest.

I'm no expert but I presume it's because the strings are further apart at one pickup than the other.

... After picking up my bag of freshly plated gold stuff' date=' I took them to my Luthier and as he was pre-fitting the pup covers, I found out the bridge versus the neck pup poles have different spacing:-s ...... I never new that...

[/quote']

They were the same spacing on the vintage Gibsons, something odd like 1 15/16". At some point, the gave a little wider spacing on the bridge pickup to better align with bridge, just a touch over 2" if I remember correctly (maybe 2 1/16"). Humbuckers made for Fenders or guitars with Floyd Rose (F-spaced or Duncan Trembuckers) have an even wider spacing, somewhere around 2 1/4" for the bridge.

The great Duane didn't know about this already? I'm slightly shocked to be honest.

I'm no expert but I presume it's because the strings are further apart at one pickup than the other.

I'm a player, not a Tech or a Luthier...... Even when I gigged heavily through the 1980's, I had a full time tech that took care of everything..... Hell I just started figuring out what serial numbers were all about..... As most young players in the 70's and 80's (at least the ones I jammed with), we never worried about stuff like that.... But I can change strings and intonate..LOL

It's musicians like me that keep the guitar Luthier/Tech business alive, and I have no shame in that..... I'd rather have an expert look over my gear.