Gibson Brands Forums

Newb needs some advice on used SG.

Bigcountry

Hi Guys,

I am new to the forums and new to the guitar. Please don't flame me. :^o Recently I purchase an Epi SG from a pawn shop for $165 US. I liked the way it looked and felt. I believe it to be a G400. The serial number is EE-03101523. It has a set neck and Jinko tuners. The bridge pickup does not seem to work. All of the soldering and connections look intact.

First question - Is it in fact an G400? - I can post pictures later.

Second question - Is this guitar worth putting in new pickups, or should I just focus on the trying to get the ones installed to work? Either way, I sound terrible at this point.

Third question - Since I am a newb, is there a more economical route to go with pups (other than SD's I have seen recommended on other threads. )if in fact it is your recommendation to replace the currently installed pups?

Thanks for your help,

Warren

Look up GFS pickups online. They are the best "value" brand I know of and highly regarded. New GFS pups are relatively cheap and so, as long as you can solder for yourself, not a bad idea to just go ahead and order some rather than waste time with what you have.

I dont know if yours is a genuine G400. I beleieve all recent genuine Epis use Grover tuners but I dont know how long that has been true for.

Hi Guys' date='

I am new to the forums and new to the guitar. Please don't flame me. :^o Recently I purchase an Epi SG from a pawn shop for $165 US. I liked the way it looked and felt. I believe it to be a G400. The serial number is EE-03101523. It has a set neck and Jinko tuners. The bridge pickup does not seem to work. All of the soldering and connections look intact.

First question - Is it in fact an G400? - I can post pictures later.

Second question - Is this guitar worth putting in new pickups, or should I just focus on the trying to get the ones installed to work? Either way, I sound terrible at this point.