Gibson Brands Forums

Help! Mayb I got cheated. Please help. Les Paul custom White.

Alfredkoh

I just bought a Les paul custom white from a store. The guitar is second hand and only sold for $450. No scratches or anything. everything is fine but the pickup is not the same with the original pickup i saw online. The pickup is black and I donno what is the brand. I assume is a very cheap pickup? Please help.. I'm a newbie in electric guitar. The link below is the pictures I post in facebook, because I don't know how to post here. Sorry.

Facebook Les paul custom white

Looks like a nice guitar. I can't tell if those are Epiphone pickups or not; obviously they're not the ones usually fitted to Customs, so someone may have upgraded it with better pickups, in which case it seems like good value. Another possibility is that the previous owner swapped the usual cheap gold plate pickup covers, which tarnish easily, for plain black ones.

The usual Epiphone pickups are ok but not great, so the previous owner would have been unlikely to swap them for anything worse. They look like a copy of the EMG pickups favoured by heavy rock players. A photo of the underside might help identify the manufacturer. How do they sound?

...I assume is a very cheap pickup?...

Don't sweat it. As antwhi2001 said, the standard Epi pickups are not the greatest to begin with, not very expensive, and it's unlikely anyone would take the standard pups out and exchange them for cheaper ones. Don't make no sense. My guess is that the pickups are an upgrade.

They do look like EMGs without the logo on them, I would remove the back panel and see if there's a battery in there. If there is, someone upgraded to active pickups.