Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Ultra II Question

ccssdxdx

Hello, I've recently purchased the ultra II and I'm blown away by such sweet sound it makes. The one thing I noticed about the gibson guitars is that there are 4 knobs you can turn on the body, but it doesn't say which one is which. Could somebody explain which knob controls tone/volume on my ultra II? I've played around with them for quite a bit but they seem to reverse roles as I select rhythm or treble - I'm fairly new to the gibson lineups :D

The knobs on the front of the Ultra ll are not the same as a standard LP. When the U-2 is standing in its stand upright and you are looking at the front of it, not holding it, two of the knobs are the same as a standard LP- the upper left is the volume control for the neck humbucker, and the upper right is the volume control for the bridge HB. But the lower left knob is a master tone control for all three pickups- you did know there were three right? The lower right knob varies the volume from the humbuckers to the Nanomag and I explain it further in a post I made to another new owner of an Ultra ll:

Congratulations on the new Ultra ll. I've had mine over three months now and still love it. The action was very good as delivered, the satin neck will become slicker as you play but will still be faster than poly. The corners of the nut on mine were very sharp so I carefully filed them down a little to make it more comfortable to play. The nut is not hard plastic like my dot but some kind of softer bone-like material or maybe resin infused plastic so go easy if you decide to smooth the corners.