Gibson Brands Forums

Blues Custom 30 problems

Hello all, I signed up to talk about my new BC30 and unfortunately the first post is going to be about problems. I got it used on craigslist and when I picked it up everything sounded good. When I took it home it wouldn't come on at all. Well, I took it too an amp tech (because yes, I'm a noob) and he said a tube was bad and the fuse was blown. A hundred dollars down the road everything seemed fine. I used it once to play at a church. Today, one week after getting fixed, I try to turn it on and again nothing is lighting up at all. The fuse and tubes look fine as far as I can tell.

I know this amp had problems with blowing fuses. Did that ever get resolved? Anybody have similar problems?

Thanks

Jamie, welcome to the forum and sorry to hear you're having amp troubles.........

Noob or not, you did the wise thing taking it to a tech.

All that said, fuses usually blow for a reason........and the solution will be to find the reason.

Were you using the same guitar both times? how is the amp grounded(if at all)?are you using effects pedals? did the tech check the tube sockets and wiring? etc.etc.etc.

Heres one idea..........make a similar post in the "lounge" section, because it's viewed more often than this section by at least 10-1, and there are some really educated, experienced, helpful & friendly people that come here.

Good luck !!

Hi Jamie, welcome to the forum. Sorry to hear that you're having problems already but know that you're not alone. I bought my amp used almost 2 years ago and just recently started having the same issue of the main fuse blowing. I have a very good amp tech and I'll dropping it off with him tonight cuz i'll be darned if I can figure it out.

There are a total of 9 fuses in this thing. The most obvious one in the big fuse holder in the back of the amp but there is also one just underneath the power plug recepticle (this is what's blowing for me).