Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Ultra????????

marty31

Hi guys newbie here, and newbie to Epiphones. Have always played telecasters in various shapes and forms.

I came into some cash recently and decided to buy a Gibson les paul studio.

I tried 2 studios in the store and although ok I expected more from a gibson8-[

I then spotted beautiful looking cherryburst? les paul and asked to play it.......turned out to be an Epiphone Les Paul Ultra.....not the new nanomeg one the original.

Mother of God when I played it i fell in love........such a warm sounding guitar and so light to boot.

Store owner informed me it was Chambered........hence the light weight......was gobsmacked.

Bought the guitar on the spot for 549 euro.....have not put it down since.....following week I bought a les paul 56 gold top.....more anon on that tho.

What gives here.......the epi blows the Gibson outta the water........any thoughts welcome.

Welcome to the best forum online. I did the same thing about a year ago.

Ended up with the Ultra 2. Very nice guitar with a huge

range of sounds, and a great cherryburst finish.

Tried the Gibson and it didn't quite do it for me. Especially at the Gibson prices!!

Funny ... I come back after a couple of days and find TWO threads about my beloved Ultra!

Congrats, Marty ... it's a wonderful guitar and has been my go-to since the day I bought it. It is also the only guitar that goes to work with me in the show I play for on the Vegas strip (I bring a back-up, but depending on mood I change that one up). It has served me faithfully and gets raves for its sound and appearance.

Good choice, buddy ... and welcome to the forum!

Jim

Here she is next to #2:

SANY0012.jpg