Gibson Brands Forums

Wood on New Epi Les Paul Standard Plus Top

rjames1973

Hi,

A couple of weeks ago, I posted a message regarding an issue I had with a new Epi Les Paul Standard Plus Top that I ordered from Musician's Friend. I received a new Epi today, and I noticed something interesting about the wood on the back. It is a lighter color than the wood on the Epi that I had to return. Both guitars are the honeyburst color. Is this due to the lacquer (or finish) on the back of the guitar, or does the wood that is used for the backing on these guitars come out darker on some of them? Just curious about this, as I am not an expert on this subject.

Out of curiosity, why would you buy online when you could easily have "test driven" a few at a dealer and decided which one suited you best...before comitting to purchase?

Most reputable dealers can & will match online pricing if they want your business (and most of them do).

I'll buy online occassionally, but only a guitar or bass that I can't find locally (custom/rare/OOP/vintage, etc). Bought a Ric 4001 a few years ago since none of my local dealers had any (and if they had, it would likely have been the only one they had in stock). Found a beautiful '76 fireglow I liked and made arrangements to call the owner. We talked several times and negotiated a sale we both were happy with.

My point is that if you're buying online, the burden of knowing and understanding the guitar in question is on the buyer. Questions need to be asked before you agree to buy. If the the seller can't or won't answer a direct question, or you feel there's something shady afoot, you need to walk away from the deal.