Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Les Paul Florintine

Rick13175

Hey all,

I purchased a Les Paul Florintine hollow body about five years back mainly because I was smitten with it's good looks. That being said, I don't know too much about the guitar itself other than they haven't made them in several years. The gold hardware is getting quite tarnished. Without taking it apart, I don't know what it has for pickups. My playing ability is somewhere between beginner and beginner-first class. I can always entertain myself and depending on the alcohol involved, I can sometimes entertain others as well. I like a warm blues sound--not much into deep crunch and overdrive. Does anyone know what pickups this guitar most likely has? Is there a recommended set of pickups to install to get the sound I'm looking for or are the one's in it the ticket? Can the hardware be polished or do I need to look for new hardware. Probably stupid questions for most in the know; however, I am a novice in training. Thanks in advance.

Tarnished hardware is an Epi trademark - consider it a "feature". It can be cleaned somewhat, but the plating is thin so any abrasive cleaner will remove the finish altogether.

For hardware you can remove from the guitar, use Goo-Gone Extreme: http://www.magicamerican.com/googone/product/86cf48f0-a3d5-49e1-90ed-5f0a4b7c1eb5.aspx

It's very nasty stuff though (mostly Acetone) - use only in a well-ventilated area, and DO NOT let it anywhere near the finish or any plastic parts.

http://forums.epiphone.com/default.aspx?g=posts&t=11494

I'm using a G-dec amp right now and I don't particularly care for it--can't get anything other than a sound that sounds synthesized. As far as posting pictures goes. I'd be happy to however I'll be damn if I can figure out how. I click on insert image and it gives me something that looks like html tagging. If someone would give me a touch of schooling, I'd post the pics. Thanks, Rick