Gibson Brands Forums

upgrading Studio Dot

gray5547

So I've already decided to add a Bigsby Tremolo system to the Dot I recently purchased. However, I'm unsure as which model to get. From what I've found, the B7 is USA made, and the B70 and B700 are both imports. As long as I'm willing to spend the money, is the B7 the best choice?

Also, I plan to put a roller bridge in favor of the stock bridge, but I have no idea what would be an ideal brand/model?

Finally, I plan to replace both the tuners and nut, and have no idea what would be good choices for either of those. As far as tuners, what about Grover locking tuners? Any good? Or any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

Myself I would opt for the USA unit, the imports may work well but if I were spending the cash I'd go for the quality one.

As far as the Grovers I'd say good choice! I've been using Grovers on my axes for 30 years, I have some 20 year old ones on my '78 Melody maker that still work like new. Oh, and no matter what type of nut you use, be sure to put some pencil lead (graphite) in the string grooves so the strings don't bind. I once bought a Gibson LP Custom cheap because it wouldn't stay in tune and the pencil lead fixed it!

The B7 and B70 are functionally identical. I have both and there's no operational difference, but there is a substantial cost difference.Grover locking tuners are very nice; have some, and they work well. Installing inlays is something any competent luthier should be able to do in less than a week.

However, I must ask, why do this to a Dot, especially a Studio? You'll be spending >$500 on a $300 guitar and it'll still be worth only marginally more than $300. BTW, there was an Epiphone Dot Deluxe out for a short period that had block inlays and a flametop. There was also an Elitist Dot. Those might be worth the upgrades, but you may want to consider selling the Dot and getting an Epi Wildkat or P93, or a Gretsch: