Gibson Brands Forums

about the Masterbilt between AJ500M & DR-500M which one y'all wanna die for?

sickboy

Hi,y'all so umm now I'm thinking about get my new acoustic Epi the Masterbilt series is the one that look so cool for me.

but between those model AJ & DR ,I don't know that much about detail . kinda heard some might say the AJs pretty cool. what is about the DR

my choice would be around AJ-500ME , AJ-500R ,DR-500R

R & M means rosewood and maple eh?

I'm kinda new with deep detail of acoustic thing.

please give me some of y'all opinion.

thank y'all so much.

the DR means its a dreadnought style, with square shoulders at the neck. the AJ has sloped shoulders, with a bit more curve to them. From what I can understand and have heard, it's pretty much an aesthetic decision. the difference in ME and R is actually not maple, but mahogany, and rosewood, and a spruce top. They're similar, the mahogany may be a bit cheaper, and doesnt sound bad. the R gives you rosewood back and sides, with a solid spruce top, which is a bit more standard and would get my vote. Either way, it's not going to be the difference than say between a laminate top and solid top, so you're bound to get a good git either way

good luck in your search

Hi' date='y'all so umm now I'm thinking about get my new acoustic Epi the Masterbilt series is the one that look so cool for me.

but between those model AJ & DR ,I don't know that much about detail . kinda heard some might say the AJs pretty cool. what is about the DR

my choice would be around AJ-500ME , AJ-500R ,DR-500R

R & M means rosewood and maple eh?

I'm kinda new with deep detail of acoustic thing.

please give me some of y'all opinion.

thank y'all so much.[/quote']

Just FYI--there is a maple bodied Masterbilt, designated (for some reason) with "P", and only available in the dreadnought size. I've played 'em, and they sound pretty good--deeper, more rounded than a lot of maple-bodied guitars.