Gibson Brands Forums

New Valve Jr - Problem, Please Help

Scott C

Hi all, new guy here.

I just received a new Epiphone Valve Jr.[confused] from a reputable online dealer, delivered via UPS.

It works, but every second or third time I use it, it sort of shuts down after a minute ot two or three[blush] . The power light stays on, but the sound just fades away and then will return in a minute or two.

I am new to tube amps, so don't even where to start. Should I just return it, or is this typical, common, or an easy fix.

Could the cold winter weather or the UPS delivery have messed something up. Loose tube, cracked component,...?

An educated opinions will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

Okay, first thing to do is get the back off the amp. They put the backs on while the tolex glue is still wet, so a putty knife can help break the glue seal and give you something to put against the chassis as you lever it out with a screw driver or something.

Wiggle the tubes around in their sockets just to make sure they're well seated. While your in there, notice the fuse holder on the orange PT wire. take the fuse out, and push the wires into the holder so you can get at those pressure pads inside. You need to buff those with a file or scotchbright pad and get any and all varnish off so the fuse will make good contact with it. Reinsert fuse, and crank it up. This issue has been a common problem since the first VJr's came out years ago.

If it still has problems, try new tubes. They're like lightbulbs, and won't last forever. Worse, they only burn out when you need 'em! Also, DOA tubes are common right out of the box. Best to stock up, and test 'em all as soon as you get 'em so you can take back the duds if you have to. If you take the amp out to gig, take spare tubes with you.

Gil...