Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Valve Senior questions - please help me decide

Jupiter

First post here. I need some advice.

I've been thinking of getting a valve senior but I need some advice...

Maybe some of you that own both the Jr and the senior could help me out.

My Situation...

I just started playing with a second band doing mostly "color" chords and a few leads. There guitar lineup includes a lead guitarist playing a Marshall half stack, an acoustic / hollowbody rhythm guitarist, me playing occasional lead and a lot of chordal variations, a bassist, a keyboardist and a drummer. Almost everyone sings and there is another singer for some songs. In other words, lots of sound!

I own an old Marshall JMP but I think it would be a bit overkill for this band.

I tried my fender champ and it worked well but I had to always "dime" it. Being old, it's far more valuable to me for recording so I don't want to schlep it around and damage it. Not for this project.

I have been using my valve junior for practice and it worked ok (I actually love the sound) but when the drummer brings his acoustic kit, everyone turns up and I'm barely cutting through (and I mean barely) with the vol at 1:00. If I turn it past 1:00 or so, the amp begins to really saturate a little too much and I lose all my cleans and headroom.

I looked at the Marshall Haze (and am still considering it), the tiny terror (too sensitive of a gain and a little fizzy up top for me) and The Egnator rebel (OK but still a little too much hi gain fizz) but I was really curious about the valve senior. Unfortunately, no one in my area has one to try out.

My Questions...

I was wondering how the sound of the Senior compares to the jr.

Do they sound drastically different due to the different tubes (and all the other bells and whistles) or are they "similar"