Gibson Brands Forums

Identification of old Epiphone Les Paul...

Ross_Curtis

I was given this guitar by my dad about 6 years ago, he picked it up from a private sale back in 1995 for around £130.

At the time he tried to find out a little more info on it; value and age, but due to the lack of serial number identification was rather difficult. Apparently the headstock is very rare (I'm not an expert) so I'll have to take his word on this. Someone did suggest it could be an early sample/pre-production model.

Any help or advice you can share would be gratefully received.

Here are some pictures:

http://s267.photobucket.com/albums/ii305/Ross_Curtis/Guitar/

That body is gorgeous. Kinda like a lava lamp finish. Very cool.

Your guitar is an early version of the MIK Les Paul before they switched over to the headstock we see today. As for dating the guitar, w/o a serial number it will be difficult. I think, not 100% positive though, that the serial numbers were on stickers applied to the back of the headstock. Obviously it is long gone. Most likely early '90's though.

Congrats on a fantabulous looking guitar.

This Guitar it's one of first Epiphone ELITE made in Japan.

No it's not.

The pre Elite/Elitist MIJ LP's headstock are identical to the Gibson headstock:

EPI_MIJ_headstock.jpg

The headstock Ross_Curtis is showing in his photos is an MIK headstock.

IMG_9770.jpg

although it is upside down!!!

They only used that headstock from 1986-1989 and the Les Paul Standard was introduced in 1989 so you do the math.

Here's a picture from the 1989 Epiphone Catalog:

1989LPSTDmed.jpg

It came in Cherry Sunburst:

89LPSTD.jpg

... and Honeyburst:

1989_EpiLP_08.jpg

1989_EpiLP_11.jpg

The serial number was on a sticker on the back of the headstock but it was commonly ripped off:

89LPSTDserial.jpg

Thanks for all your advice.