Gibson Brands Forums

Need Help deciding LP- Gibson or Epiphone?

sFLsniper

Hey All-

I joined this forum for your input.

I'm a beginner and I'm going to upgrade my guitar. I have the cash for a Gibson satin black studio. But I'm having trouble wrapping my head around $800 at my skill level.

I figure you guys would know what to do since you all own Epiphones...

Thanks in advance!

Brian

Well time and experimentation has shown that Epiphones are great bases for modding and the like. Instead of getting an 800 dollar Gibson.

Why don't you save a bit of that 800 and put it into mods like pots, caps, pickups, a new nut, etc.

The money that you save could probably get you a decent tube amp and then you'll be set.

What kind of LP are you pickin' right now?

It is true that Epiphones are good guitars for modding...

...but don't think that you have to modify an Epiphone. I had a G-400 which I kept as stock, and it was still a very good guitar.

An Epi Les Paul Standard will run you about $450 upwards (depending on model/finish etc). With a few bucks for a good set-up, I'd expect it to be a perfectly good player without having to undertake any serious modifications.

Something else to consider...if you are looking for something in Les Paul territory, don't assume that your only choice is "Gibson or Epiphone?" There are other brands to consider, some of which are very good indeed. You'll find a lot of people here are Agile enthusiasts...

Agile-AL2500_F.jpg

...and personally I'm a big fan of the Hagstroms...

3211180232_80f561dc89.jpg

...I guess the most important thing (if you can) is to go to a few guitar stores and find something you like...

I don't want to squizz big brand names here, but you might also consider 'MIJ lawsuit' models (though they're weren't all subject to lawsuit). Burny, Edwards, Greco, Orville/Epiphone Japan. You'll find soulful guitars and faithful replicas - some are even finished with nitro -at a very interesting price.