Gibson Brands Forums

purpose and tips for using toggle switch between pickups

phefner

[cool] I have recently bought a sheraton and my research was inconclusive as to why there are two pickups and what are the practical usages of these pickups. For instance soloing, rythym, jazz, rock, etc. I have seen players on YouTube switch while playing both semis and regulr hollow bodies and it was always peculiar to me. Any help would be greatly apreciated

Generally, bridge pickups have a brighter, sharper sound, and neck pickups have a more mellow bassy sound. This is because of their locations, and the sounds they put out when amplified are quite different. People switch between them because of the different tones that can be produced by them, and further tonal changes can be affected by adjusting the tone and/or volume control for each pickup.

[cool]

phefner

I am new to electric guitar, but have experience with classical and acoustic guitar. From that, I know that varying where I pluck or pick will produce different sounds. On a classical, closer to the bridge produces a more metallic sound, and on the other side of the sound hole is a sweeter, mellower sound. With the pickup selector, it is all about getting different sounds based on 1) position, and 2) type of pickup (single coil, humbucker).

I am a real newby, but I can give an example of what I was doing last night with my Dot. I was attempting to play some "She's So Heavy/I Want You" (Beatles). For the She's-So-Heavy chord arpeggio part based on Dm, I was using the bridge pickup for a sharp sound. For the I-Want-You solo part, I switched to the neck pickup for a smoother sound.

A few suggested settings you might want to try:-