Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Blues Custom 30 Crackling

Hi everyone, thanks for taking a look at my thread.

I bought the Blues Custom this week and this morning I noticed a quiet, but still annoying crackling coming from the speakers. It doesn't get louder as you turn the volume up. I thought it might be one of my pedals (Sonic Stomp and Boss BD-2), or maybe the guitar itself but the crackling is still present when I unplug the guitar and all effects. Does anybody know what could be causing this?

Be aware, I am a total beginner when it comes to amps and this is my first valve amp so if you do know the cause could you please explain it in a simple way! Thank you!

Danny

Hi everyone' date=' thanks for taking a look at my thread.

I bought the Blues Custom this week and this morning I noticed a quiet, but still annoying crackling coming from the speakers. It doesn't get louder as you turn the volume up. I thought it might be one of my pedals (Sonic Stomp and Boss BD-2), or maybe the guitar itself but the crackling is still present when I unplug the guitar and all effects. Does anybody know what could be causing this?

Be aware, I am a total beginner when it comes to amps and this is my first valve amp so if you do know the cause could you please explain it in a simple way! Thank you!

Danny[/quote']

Could be some noise coming in on the lines. Any superimposed noise on the 120v will pass right through

the power transformer and caps and be present on the B+ for the tubes.

Could also be a tube. Some tubes can go noisy and "crackle"...make sure that

the efx is unplugged from the amp and the reverb is turned down.

Ok' date=' so if I understand you correctly it could be something completely separate from the amp that is somehow making the noise, or it could be a dirty tube? When you say efx, do you mean effects pedals? [/quote']

I wouldn't necessarily call it a "dirty tube" as tubes generally don't go defective