Gibson Brands Forums

Epiphone Texans??

Gibson4life

Hey, I'm new to the Epiphone Forums because I'm usually on the Gibson Forums but since I have 4 Epiphones, I thought I'd join the Epiphone community as well. Anyways, I was wondering if anyone on the forum had an Epiphone Texan. I love mine, but I want to hear what other members had to say about their Texans. [biggrin]

I don't have the "real" Texan but I did get an "Inspired by 1964" Texan and it is an amazing guitar. Wonderful sound -- plenty of volume and complex, colorful tone. Gives me '98 J-45 a run for its money, in fact, and I've always thought my '45 was one of the better ones out there.

I've gigged out with it once so far and the Shadow Sonic Nanoflex system works really well, too. Sounds great plugged in.

Got a Macca Texan MIJ -up there with my Kalamazoo Epi's & Gibbo's.Back in the 60's I used to play a Texan in a music shop with no hope of affording it.I made do with a Levin and didn't get into decent acoustics till the 70's.

I can still feel the vibe of that sunburst Texan -then I got to try a Martin D18!

I have a Macca left handed MIJ Texan Absoulutely love it! it has brightness and warmth in the tone and almost plays itself! The build quality is superb, not a flaw on it and its really nice and light without feeling fragile. Honestly think its the best guitar I've ever played. What Texan do you have?

Hi Gibson4life,

Welcome to the Epiphone forum. I'm on the Gibson forum, too, as are many of the folks here. Lots of cross-polination between the foums!