Gibson Brands Forums

LP and guitar photo tips

rybass

I'm no professional but I like to tell everyone how to do stuff so here goes.

Guitar photos and you: a how to by your freindly neighborhood knowitall.

-Get a good digital camera with adjustable apature and shutter speed control. Preferably if your adjusting one you want the other to be automatic unless you know your way around a camera in which case reading this would be moot. Try to get a camera with a timer or remote also so that you are not touching it at the exact moment it snaps the pic.

-Set your guitar up with camera angled slightly off of perpendicular of your guitar face (to avoid glare) WITH a tripod or brace of some sort so you don't have to touch it. Have the guitar on a relatively flat plain parallel with your lens vertically for overall focus of image. If you want a good perspective shot angle the headstock back and focus on whatever point you want to be the detail; i.e. pickups, bridge, fretboard.

-Background should be neutral and no pattern. Preferrably a matt surface or minute texture like velvet or canvas. Light guitars use a dark color backgound/ dark guitars use a light color background. Stay away from pure white or distinct colors. Good choices are black, charcoal, cream, egg shell, neutral browns and grey greens. You can get fake velvet at walmart for like $6 for 2 yards

-Have at least two light sources at around 50 +/- degrees angle of your camera and one about 15% further away than the other. If you are using a home lamp diffuse the light with thin tissue paper ( not directly on the light or you will soon have natural flame light to shoot by)

-Set the shutter speed to around 1/60 down to 1/4. hopefully your apature will automatically set itself when it reads the light if not you will need to adjust it to get the best exposure.