Gibson Brands Forums

opinions on the les paul classic

bigdaddy496

yeah cuz mine isnt too great right now

i just bought one in ebony with the nickel hard ware. the first thing i noticed was it was light, which i found weird. i havent been able to get my hands on any newer les pauls so i had no idea they had reduced their weight. another thing i noticed and i wonder if its just the way the guitar is set up, it doesnt sustain like a les paul. also the neck seems small. i dont know, maybe i should have gone after an older one, the situation behind myself buying this guitar is gonna seem very odd.

the guitar is here with me in iraq, im a soldier whos deployed and figured i would have enough time learn me some real guitar. i had a epiphone les paul standard about 10 years ago and that thing was better than this in some ways.

anyway, i dunno maybe this is more of a rant.

major props to all of our servicemen

but about your guitar

alot of newer les pauls arnt build like most les pauls of the past, they have their own advantages, and their own disadvantages

the les paul classic has a smaller "60s" style neck, where as the 50s style neck is bigger

what else do you want to know?

It all depends on what you want from your Les Paul. When I bought my Les Paul Premium Plus, I had tried the Classic, but it sounded too 'thin' to me. However, it has a slimmer neck and feels lighter.

I'm a 'built' guy so I can deal witht the weight of my guitar. A slighter built person would probably prefer to use a Classic due to the thinner neck and lighter weight. But, you know, your guitar tone essentially tends to come from your attack, so it may well be worthstaying with it and learning to love it.

Alternatively, you ought to A B it next to a Les Paul Standard and see which you like best...

Shouldn't you be ducking bullets if you're in Iraq?

If it's a new Classic, than the guitar is basically hollow. It's called chambering.