Gibson Brands Forums

G-400 vs. Faded/Vintage G-400 vs. 1966 G-400

Epidemic

Howdy. I'm just learning in the guitar world, but I've learned a lot quick and have been told I'm a good student. I'm in a dangerous place, can mess around just enough to actually plug in to an amp at the local store but have long ways to go. Anyway, I discovered a love affair with the feel and look of the SG/G-400 body style and sound. However my virgin ears are not tuned enough to tell a lot of subtle differences that many more experienced players can.

So to my question - are the differences between the above models purely aesthetic? Is it just a looks thing? I don't mind the differences in price (although I actually prefer the less expensive "faded" finish), but I don't want to pay more just for gloss that ends up as a fingerprint magnet.

Thanks for any clarification and look forward to furthering my affair with these great instruments.

No, no. They are not all the same.

When I went shopping for my Epi G-400, I faced the same thing you faced. After reading up on them I learned that the '66 had better tuners and better pickups. However, when I played the '66 against the standard G-400 the differences were not very noticeable to me. That fact made my decision easier -- I simply went for aesthetic appeal. The '66 with the full pickguard was what I wanted. Aside from that cosmetic selling point, the better tuners tipped the scales towards the '66. (But I also have a '66 Mustang so really the '66 Epi was a no brainer.)

Whichever you choose it is a cool guitar. Easy and fun to play.

SGoutsidecl.jpg

No' date=' no. They are not all the same.