Gibson Brands Forums

J-45 True Vintage owners/players: Opinions? Critique?

Old Neil

When enquiring about the 1942 Legend guitar a while back, some good comments came up in passing about the the J-45 TV. I would love to hear from those who either own or have played the TV particularly in regard to how the tone and neck feel compare to the standard J-45. Thanks.

since i have no personal experience with the guitar in question, i did a search and here is what it revealed.

on june 26th, our forum mate, space pup, wrote the following...

"Gibson truely hit the nail on the head when they introduced the True Vintage series of acoustic guitars. The True Vintage series currently consists if the SJ-200, J-185, Hummingbird, J-45 and the Southern Jumbo. My review will deal with the J-45 only since I just added it to my collection.

The J-45 True Vintage combines a Honduran Mahogany body & neck, Select Sitka Spruce top, and Madagascar Rosewood fretboard & bridge to prodeuce a guitar that has a rich, mellow, and balanced tone with crisp highs that give off that classic Gibson jangle. Strumming the J-45 True Vintage I quickly noticed how the chords flow smoothly one to another without any cross blending or piling on top of each other. This produces a vintage tone that shines on songs like "The Narrow Way, Part 1" and "Like a Rolling Stone". The 24.75" scale not only makes both flat and finger picking a breeze but allows each note to ring out full and clear. This Literally brings songs like "Kind Hearted Woman" to life. The "cursive" Gibson logo and "Only a Gibson is Good Enough" banner on the headstock along with the brown case with pink liner complete the True Vintage effect. The only drawback I could find is that the J-45 True Vintage does not have a pick up so for those of you who record or play live the J-45 True Vintage will require an external mic.