Gibson Brands Forums

GK pickup installation on ZT3

tom2p7

Hello everyone! I am new to Steinberger -- just bought a ZT3. I've been playing since 1970, had a variety of guitars over the years, and I have been happy with most of them. But this ZT3 is a new experience! A great innovation, a new dimension, I'm sure it's all been said before. Anyway I really love this instrument and must applaud the guts of Mr. Steinberger for addressing so many of the design issues (of traditional guitars) that no one else wanted to deal with. The TT alone is a major breakthrough that seems largely unappreciated amongst other guitarists (public and those I know personally). But my question is:

Does anyone know of a good way to install a GK (or other hex if there is one) pickup in the ZT3?

I have a GK-3 kit (the one intended for amateur installation), but there is precious little surface area for the control unit. The pickup itself is no problem, but where to put the controls? The internal installation kit "GK-KIT-GT3" looks more promising, but I was wondering if anyone had ever done this? Maybe put the connector where the allen wrench holder is? I would like to minimize the mods to the instrument, and make the installation as unobtrusive as possible. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

-tom2p7

• 1 year later...

Okay, this response is really late, since I just joined this forum. Anyway...