Gibson Brands Forums

New Epiphone Dot ES 335 needs setup..help!

I just bought an Epiphone "Dot ES 335" a week ago. It sounds ok, but it needs help

in the tuning. Or intonation. It tunes up fine using my Tuner. And doing the

checking it 6th sting 5th fret to 5th string open, sounds fine. Etc.

It's down at the 12th fret or so that the tuning/intonation starts to lose it.

Never having tuned a Gibson using the adjustments at the bridge, I am not sure

how to start. As in, do I start w/the high E, Low E, or what? I don't like the

idea of using trial and error on this.

Can someone lead me to a site that describes this? Or tell me how to do it?

The neck is straight, so that isn't the problem.

Not to be snarky, but I'd say take it to a good guitar tech. I'm a newb, but that's what I'd do. That way you know it is done right, and you can just play. Outside of that there are approximately a zillion websites that will advise you, right or wrong, on setting up your guitar.

okay, now I'm being snarky ;)

Not to be snarky, but I'd say take it to a good guitar tech. I'm a newb, but that's what I'd do. That way you know it is done right, and you can just play. Outside of that there are approximately a zillion websites that will advise you, right or wrong, on setting up your guitar.

okay, now I'm being snarky ;)

=========================

"there are approximately a zillion websites..."

Ok, can you give me a URL?

------

Aaron, I agree 100%. The problem is that the nearest music shop is over an hour away, and that is by car, which I don't have. Hence, my thinking of doing it myself. I started from scratch back in 1987 and opened a bicycle shop. To do so, I had to be the owner, accountant, salesman, mechanic, etc. Once I got over my fear of taking things apart, I was able to not only do that, by reassemble them, fixed. My thought being is that there are a lot less parts to a guitar than a bike.