Gibson Brands Forums

68 Gibson acoustic mystery

archiestone

Newbie here - hoping someone can help me out.

Local ad for a 1968 Gibson describes it as: My parents bought this Gibson For me in 1968.... this Gibson was made especially for Sherman Clay for their 100 anniversary. The design is based on a LG-1 (the guitar expert said the body is a little larger). The top is of solid spruce, solid mahogany neck and sides and the bottom is mahogany veneer with a Brazilian rosewood finger board and bridge, not plastic.

The label reads: Gibson Guitar Co. Made Expressly for Sherman Clay Centennial Model

Small fuzzy pic can be seen here: http://www.fenderforum.com/userphotos/index.html?recid=56928

Can anyone tell me anything about this model and what it might possibly be? Any idea of value?

Price is right and I like mahogany & it's size. Wanted to try to get some education before seeing it.

Thanks!

Sherman Clay was a large west coast music dealer - I have run into a few Gretsches that have similar presentation labels. Not sure of the guitar - looks like it has an adjustable bridge and a silk screen logo. Maybe a B-15 or B-25N although I am not sure what years the pastic as opposed to the wood bridge were used. Hopefully some of the more knowledegable folks will have an answer for you.

looks like a fake to me. a real guitar would have better pics. also:

headstock is wrong shape.

logo too small

bridge is wrong

body is no shape gibson ever made (it would have to be similar to something. they used molds to bend the sides to shape)

large black square label in the soundhole looks more like a modern cheap martin... never seen one like that on any gibson. the headstock and TRC says it's not a martin, but it's not a gibson either.

truss rod cover is HUGE! (and looks to be wrong shape)

unless you can get it in hand before buying run as fast as possible from this one. if you can check it out in person and it is real, then i would be VERY surprised.