Gibson Brands Forums

New to Straplocks (I have Questions)

Artie Owl

Ok, I see it mentioned on here a lot, but I don't know that I quite grasp what a straplock is and how they're installed.

I understand that it's essentially a two piece system that interconnects to keep your strap from coming off, but from the look of the kits, do you have to drill into your SG to do it? Because I am NOT cool with that. Before I order anything can anyone give me a detailed acount of what you did to install them. I'm looking at a set of Dunlops from Musician's Friend for 15$, I need help!

Ok, first let me say that i am not a pro and I am happy to be corrected but.....

They replace the existing strap "buttons" on your guitar. As such, the only drilling you may have to do is to widen the existing holes slightly if the screws supplied with the straplocks are wider than the originals. If you try to force a wider srew in, it may split the wood. The only other concern would be that the new screws may be longer than the originals as well. I have no experience of the Dunlop straplock so I cant say if either case is the fact but I am certain that you will not be drilling any extra holes unless you deliberately chose to change the location of the strap points.

Thanks, I usually do a search before posting but I'm a little out of it today, still I don't see an immediate benefit to buying those and doing that unless you're doing some stage performing and throwing your guitar around a lot. I think I'll just use a bit of string and tie it around the outside of the strap button on my regular one for now. Not enough reward for the effort imo.