Gibson Brands Forums

Roller Bridge with 72 mm and a Bigsby on a 94' Sheraton II

Birki

hello!

first, i would liek to introduce myself - my name is wolfgang, and I am a guitarist for 25 years. right now, I am mainly playing with my sons, who are learning the drums and the bass guitar. I have a few instruments including a rather new chinese SG G400 Epi (awesome instrument for the money, BTW) and an old Sheraton II, built in Korea in 94. The latter is my pride and joy, mainly for sentimental reasons and since it is a very nice instrument. however, I never liked the gold hardware, and by now, the stop-tailpiece, the bridge and the tuners look pretty bad.

so i thought about pimping it. the problem, which was discussed many times here (but without a convincing solutio, as far as I could see) is the stud spacing of the tailpiece and the bridge, which is 72 mm for the bridge and 80 for the stop tailpiece ...

my idea is the following: I have found a nickel roller bridge with 72 mm on the britisch axesrus-page. if i choose to use this one with a Bigsby, I could possibly use a Vibramate mounting plate, enlarge the holes a little bit so that it fits the bushings for the 80 mm stop tailpiece, and mount the bigsby without any residual or new holes in the guitar ...

what do you think? reasonable? BTW - can I use a Bigsby B7 or B12 with the sheraton? would the vibramate fit the distance to the bottom of the guitar? I do, however, have access to a cnc-mill, so i would be able to make my own custom vibramate-adapter ...

yours

wolfi

First off, Welcome!

Good for you if you can find a roller bridge. I know some of the guys around here with older Sherrys have a hard time finding replacement bridges that fit. I put a B70 and Wilkenson roller bridge on mine. Mine is an '06. I'm not sure about the B12, but the B7 will work fine. I would choose the B7 over the Vibramate. The Vibramate is more suited for a flat top, but there are some that have used it on an arched top.