Gibson Brands Forums

About to pull the trigger on SG Faded...question

DB Cooper

Been playing acoustic for just over two years...have put off buying an electric until my skill level justified a new purchase. I've always loved the SG, and was excited to come across the Faded at a price that seemed more reasonable for me.

Question is - where to purchase. Local Guitar Center has one on the wall, and I played it for about an hour the other night...somehow managed to put it back and walk out. Sweetwater has 13 of them in cherry finish - with multiple pics of each one.

I like the idea of getting a guitar that several dozen people haven't already handled, so Sweetwater seems like the way to go. But I'm not sure how much variation there is between each guitar - how do I know if I'm getting a "good" one when buying online?

Both places have the same price: $699...

I am new to electrics and I'm not sure sure I even know what to look at.

Advice? Comments?

Thanks! ~DB

If you have shop/s with stock, within driving distance, it's always better to get your eyes, hands and ears on an instrument and play it before purchasing. There is varability between instruments and with mail ordering you might end up with an instrument you don't like. Then you've got to deal with return polices and shipping.

As far as Guitar Center goes, be sure to thoroughly inspect the instrument before making the purchase.

Agreed, if you can try it before you buy it then do it. mail order can be a real hit or miss. the only guitar i bought mail order and liked and then kept for more than a few months is my telecaster which i had shipped from the states to Scotland and when i emigrated to Canada it was the only electric i took with me.

I have a 2008 sg special faded which I love, as soon as i picked it up and hit the strings for the first time in the store i knew i had to have, especially since the wife approved!!!!